Extend or retire – Carrick

on

Manchester United’s second-longest serving player currently at the club Michael Carrick is likely to retire if his Old Trafford contract is not extended, with his current contract expiring this summer.

The 35-year-old midfielder said: “I’ve said for some time now, as long as I feel I can contribute enough that’s fine by me.

“I understand I am not going to play every game. I haven’t really got a problem with that.

“I need to be playing enough. I don’t want to be here just for the sake of ‘you’ve been here so long, let’s keep you on board’. I wouldn’t want to do that.

“It almost depends on how long I’m here. I don’t think there’s many places I’d want to play, if any, after this anyway.”

Retirement if no extension was given? He replied: “I probably would say so, yes. I think so. I couldn’t say definitely but pretty much.”

Leave a Reply

